Starting Mealworm Farm

raising-mealworms

Our mealworms have arrived — I guess I should say our superworms have arrived to be more accurate! Finding a reputable dealer that will ship in the winter months and is near enough to make sure the worms arrive healthy was a chore but finally, success!

We currently have 1,000 superworms munching away happily on some of our homegrown carrots. I’m sure it’s just because they’re new but we’re all finding them fascinating. There’s something almost zen about watching the little buggers crawl around! It’s as relaxing as watching an aquarium, even if its rating on the creepy scale is higher.raising-superworms (1)

When they first arrived, they were sluggish and we thought we were going to lose them. It was 27F for a high and we’d just had a ice and snow storm. We slowly brought them up to temp and miraculously they survived. I think it helped a lot that the seller had thoroughly insulated the box and included a warming pouch.

So, we’re almost ready for crappie spawn! I’ve even thought about giving them a go fishing from the heated dock. I just haven’t gotten myself talked into digging the fishing gear out.

Cost per 2 dozen if bought in baitshop: $7.00
Cost per 2 dozen on current stock including shipping: $0.672
Cost per 2dozen after initial investment: Less than $0.10

Leave a comment